In the face of adversity

Thinking track of last year when I tried to give 12wbt a go, all I can remember is that I was scared. Scared that I’d be hungry all the time, which for me is close to death, scared I would fail etc.

This round I am nothing but excited. I keep telling my partner all the things we could do together and all the things I want to do and achieve and I think my enthusiasm is rubbing off onto him too as he was telling me he wants to make time to come to the gym with me. So I told him 6:30 Friday morning we should go to boxing together.

I love my excitement and I’m going to bottle it up and keep it for as long as I can.

A few days ago my car died on the side of the road on my way home from work. Normally this would have been the absolute end of the world, I would have eaten my stress and frustration. But I carried on. I still went and signed up at the gym, I still went to work. I JFDI! It may be small things but the old me would have curled into a ball and given up. I didn’t get want to do that any more.  I’ve been organising my little button off. I’ve made sure there is room in the budget for any expenses to get the car working again. This may mean not getting my workout gear for a while. But I’m alright with that. I’m learning to be flexible.

Leave a Reply

